All Women's Talk

8 Phases of a Breakup ...

By Heather

How to Overcome Breakup feelings isn't easy. I've been through a couple break ups and they are so hard to overcome! Ladies, don't worry though, you don't have to learn how to overcome breakup feelings alone, I'll help you. Below, I'm going to go through the 8 phases of how to overcome breakup feelings, so that you can understand exactly what you're going to have to go through to start healing again.

1 Denial

The first phase that you are going to go through is denial. You're probably going to watch for your ex to call. Heck, you might even call him. This is also the 'I should have/could have/would have done it' phase, so don't be ashamed of that. It's all part of the how to overcome breakup feelings process.

2 Negotiation

Next up is negotiation. You aren't going to be negotiating your way back into a relationship, but what would happen if you changed your hair color? What about lost some weight? Would that bring him back? This is probably exactly what you will put yourself through and it's the normal how to overcome breakup feelings process. Just admit it though, the relationship is over and nothing is going to change that.

Trendinig Stories

More Stories ...

3 Broken Heart

This is probably the hardest how to overcome breakup feelings phase. It seriously feels like your heart is breaking in two right? Heck, you might even feel like you are having a panic attack when you see him with someone else. Calm down ladies, it does get better and realize, you are better off.

4 Self Accusing

Ladies, we always do this. Either you are accusing yourself for things that you could have done to keep him or you are accusing him of things that he should have done. This is a hard phase to get over, but if you just admit that it just didn't work and it's no one's fault, it does get better.

5 Depression

You will feel depressed. You might even eat an entire half gallon of ice cream (I … know from experience). That doesn't mean that you'll be depressed forever. Just take it one day at a time.

6 Anger

After depression is anger. You're going to be mad. You'll be mad he's with someone else, you'll be mad you aren't the one he is with, you're gonna be mad that it's over. It's natural and you just have to go through it.

7 Acceptance

Finally, we get to the acceptance part of the phase. In the end, you'll eventually realize that it's over and you'll accept it. It's going to be hard to believe that you actually can accept it, but you'll be able to. You do have to go through the other six phases of how to overcome breakup feelings before you get to this one, no skipping around!

8 Healing

Finally, you'll start to heal. Heck, this might even be the time you start dating. If you aren't ready to start dating right away, at least you'll start enjoying your life again. It could take weeks or it could take days, it all depends on you and how deep the relationship was.

Top Image Source:

Please rate this article